Manager Of The Month ‘Curse’   Leave a comment

   by JK Cornwall (Member of

First of all let us congratulate Birmingham City boss Chris Hughton who has been awarded the accolade of Npower Championship Manager of the Month for January.

Chris has led Blues to an unbeaten 5 game month with four wins and a draw during January, generating 13 points from a possible 15 and scoring a remarkable 16 goals whilst conceding just 3.

Chris is now one of only ten managers to have one the award twice in the same year.

Next up let us congratulate Birmingham City Defender Curtis Davies who has been awarded the accolade of Npower Championship Player of the Month for January.
Curtis has been a rock in defence for Blues but has shown that he can also play a big part in set pieces by scoring 3 of the 16 goals scored.
Curtis is the one and only Blues player to receive the award to date.


The Football Leaue Championship Awards were first awarded in August 2005 so we’ve had a look.

Steve Bruce won the first for the club as manager in December 2006. 
Played 6, Won 5, Drew 1, For 17, Against 4
. . . . . . then the ‘curse’ struck
Lost 1-0, Drew 2-2, Won 5-1, Lost 3-2, Lost 3-1, Drew 1-1

Chris Hughton won the second for the club as manager in October 2011.
Played 6, Won 5, Drew 1, For 10, Against 2
. . . . . . then the ‘curse’ struck
Drew 2-2, Lost 1-0, Drew 1-1, Won 2-1, Drew 2-2, Lost 1-0

Chris Hughton has now won the club’s third as manager.
Played 5, Won 4, Drew 1, For 16, Against 3
. . . . . . then the ‘curse’ struck ??
– we shall see . . . 

Right , lets look at this logically and mathematically. For a manager to be looked at for an award his team must out-perform 23 others which is not easy to do and would normally require a team to have an exceptional month, normally unbeaten and winning the majority of games, is it not then obvious that the form of the team can only dip or remain exceptional, therefore 9 times out of 10, the dip in form has to appear.

To dispell this myth a bit more, surely if there were such a ‘curse’ then it would be impossible to win two on the bounce.
Not so fast , this has been achieved by 5 managers, they were ;
Neil Warnock (twice), Steve Coppell, Roy Keane, and the mighty Chris Hughton.

Question is, do we want to win these awards or not?

We think we do, here’s why.

The 10 elite managers that Chris Hughton has now joined by winning twice in a year are; (spot the pattern)

2004-5 Paul Jewel / Wigan
2005-6 Neil Warnock / Sheff U & Steve Coppell / Reading,
. . . Billy Davies / PNE
2006-7 Billy Davies Derby, Roy Keane / Sunderland
2007-8 Tony Mowbray / Wba
2008-9 Mick McCarthy / Wolves
2009-10 Chris Hughton / Newc
2010-11 Neil Warnock / QPR
2011-12 Tony Mowbray / Midd , Chris Hughton / Us

Only Billy Davies with PNE did not achieve promotion to the Premier League

Couple of facts

The most awards accumulated is 6, this has been achieved by 3 managers, of these elite 3 only one has won more than twice in one year, in fact he won 4 in one year. Step forward . . . . . . . . .MR CHRIS HUGHTON . . . . .

Please let the awards keep rolling in

Please Leave a Reply...KRO

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: